Mullberry Whine

poured out before bed

To the Tune of Me

Sitting in my shamefully dirty (thank you, rainy, muddy winter) old Focus at a shamefully looooong red light, blasting an eclectic mix of Naw ‘Leans classic jazz, Big Band, Aaron Copeland, and Jack Johnson, and not looking forward yet to another day of night, I begin to think about how marvelous it might be to put my hum-drum life to music.  I certainly imagine various theme songs playing throughout my typical day – which is without a doubt why I make people smile when I walk by.   Or perhaps that’s because I’m rather odd looking most of the time…  But I digress.  But what if the great conductor in the sky were to bop down to allow me just one choreographed life-number?  How would I choose which song to make my own for just a few moments?!

Well, what about Bobby Day’s Little Bitty Pretty One?  But then there is KT Tunstall’s Suddenly I See.  Oh Lord, I can’t forget Stevie Wonder’s Superstitious.  Or Peggy Lee’s Fever.  And I adore Aretha, couldn’t go wrong with Respect, or, oh, I love Chain of Fools!  Of course, if my husband is in this ditty Louie’s Give me a Kiss to Build a Dream On would be the ultimate.  Ooo, now I’m thinking Juana Molina Un Dia.  For a little energetic smoothness, I suppose could go with Cold Play Clocks or Verve’s Bitter Sweet Symphony.  It Don’t Mean a Thing with good old Duke just popped into my head.  Oh, so many good-uns to be had…

After much deliberation (just as long as it took that gol’ darn train to hurry it up across my tracks), I’ve finally fixed on it – Glen Miller’s In the Mood.  When I’m In The Mood, I’m efficient, but sassy, a little flirty (but not too much, being a pulpy, happily married berry), present in the moment, dexterous, and awesome.  In my mind anyway.  And that will be where In the Mood will be playing all night tonight.

Keep it clean, keep it respectful, or keep away.

Information

This entry was posted on March 14, 2012 by in Long Nights, Music, Taking Care and tagged , , .

Follow me.

LINKwithlove

From the Cellar

Now Fermenting

House Rules

Creative Commons License
Nothing under the table.
***
The views expressed on "Mullberry Whine" are NOT intended to diagnose or treat disease.
***
The med-ed related stories described here are based on real events. Details have been changed in accordance with HIPAA de-identification guidelines to protect confidentiality.
***
Mullberry Whine can be enjoyed daily; there is no unsafe quantity. Real wine, though, should be enjoyed in moderation. At-Risk Drinking for males under 65 is defined as >14 alcoholic beverages per week or >4/day, with >7 drinks a week or >3/day being the cut-off for females under 65 and for anyone, male or female, who has graced this planet for 65 years for more. Drink Mullberry Whine like there are no consequences. But drink alcohol responsibly. Your friends, your family, your health-care provider, and your liver - heck, ALL of the organs in your body - will thank you.
