Mullberry Whine

poured out before bed

Favorite Things Friday

...the mobile for chic adults...

Mr. Whine is an excellent physician, a fine contributing member of society, a taxpayer, a law-abider, a good son and neighbor.  Oh, and he’s a great husband.  But he’s not so good at remembering birthdays.  Or anniversaries.  Or really much of anything when it comes to calendar dates.  So, knowing the surprise-shock-embarrassed look I typically get upon surrendering a thoughtful gift or card on a special day, I opted to play it cool this Valentine’s day (read: not participate.  Everyday should be Valenine’s day if you love each other, right?).  Valentine’s day fell during my general surgery rotation, meaning six days of the week I was getting home long after dark only to fall into bed, rising but a few hours later for rounds and a redo.  True to form, on that commercial day of love I stumbled home, bleary eyed and hoping for nothing but a rendezvous with my bed linens and expecting to find my husband exhibiting his usual stertor among said bedding.

But our apartment lights were glowing as I pulled into the building.  When I entered, the apartment was bright, spotless (GASP!), smelling of wispy rose incense.  Intrigued (and a bit loopy from lack of sleep) I dropped my gear and wandered into the open concept living space.  I was struck by the warm light in the room – every surface, nook, and cranny was covered with lit glass votives – and by the sweet greeting of a smiling, coiffed Mr. Whine, who sat grinning before a gorgeous homemade torte.  Hanging above him and that delicious torte – the lovely capris shell light fixture I’d admired for quite a long while.  He’d gotten it for a song thanks to a mega sale + a timely coupon.  We enjoyed the torte and the candlelight, slipping in a few hours of sleep before I had to leave for work again – but what a great memory.  And what  a great pendant light!

5 comments on “Favorite Things Friday

  1. shopaholicmd2013
    April 6, 2012

    What a gorgeous light! Also, kudos to Mr Whine for coming up with a creative, way to make the day special for you!

    • mullberrywhine
      April 6, 2012

      Thanks, I just LOVE it! Beautiful sheen in the morning sun, fabulously glowing when lit – it makes my day. And the hubby is pretty fab too, morning (after he brushes his teeth) and night (as long as he’s not too crankily tired). Looking forward to reading you on WP! ;).

  2. Peace Of Iran
    April 8, 2012

    I love that you called these the “mobile for chic adults”… haha That’s so true! I love these too… especially sitting outside in the shade with a glass of lemonade! Is it summer yet?! (And such a ROMANTIC story! So sweet 🙂 )

    • mullberrywhine
      April 8, 2012

      Oh my gosh, I’m wanting for the sweaty months, too! Almost, Peace, it’s almost here! (But, just you watch, when the heat comes I’ll be yearning for the cool of fall, fickle me). And Persian men can be rather sweet sometimes, as I’m sure you well know. 😉

      • Peace Of Iran
        April 9, 2012

        Indeed! That’s so funny about the sweaty months… last night my husband and I went for a walk and it was still pretty warm outside and I told him it was too early to get “Thigh Sweat” ha! I’ll last about 10 days in summer then will br craving the cold and a pumpkin spice latte.

Keep it clean, keep it respectful, or keep away.

Follow me.

LINKwithlove

From the Cellar

Now Fermenting

House Rules

Creative Commons License
Nothing under the table.
***
The views expressed on "Mullberry Whine" are NOT intended to diagnose or treat disease.
***
The med-ed related stories described here are based on real events. Details have been changed in accordance with HIPAA de-identification guidelines to protect confidentiality.
***
Mullberry Whine can be enjoyed daily; there is no unsafe quantity. Real wine, though, should be enjoyed in moderation. At-Risk Drinking for males under 65 is defined as >14 alcoholic beverages per week or >4/day, with >7 drinks a week or >3/day being the cut-off for females under 65 and for anyone, male or female, who has graced this planet for 65 years for more. Drink Mullberry Whine like there are no consequences. But drink alcohol responsibly. Your friends, your family, your health-care provider, and your liver - heck, ALL of the organs in your body - will thank you.
