Mullberry Whine

poured out before bed

It’s All About W(h)inning…

To tell stories – true stories – to carefully load those words which trigger the look and feel of my experience – to stockpile those fleeting moments which deflect my lips, give me pause, or piqué my tear ducts – this is what I love most, what I gladly ration a healthy slice of my slim free time to, what drives me half mad while acting as sometimes symptomatic, sometimes supportive, sometimes curative therapy.

That someone actually reads what I write – that they would land on my humble little page and stay for a short spell – and that they actually enjoy my mental scribblings…jeepers.

I’m quite honored to accept (read: grinning smugly about) a trio of awards from a pair of my favorite bloggers, who maintain two of the first sites I followed when I started here a bit over three months ago.  Below please enjoy a ditty about the nominating bloggers and the enactment of my duty in accepting the awards.

Both The Versatile Blog Award and the One Lovely Blog Award nods came from the aptly named livingvoraciously, a wily economics affairs adviser and admirably strong woman whose spunky and insightful blog, Corporate Skirts,  I do enjoy.  The Liebster Blog nomination kindly comes from Peace of Iran, who had the same brilliant idea as I in marrying a dashingly handsome Persian lad and who maintains a site – peaceofiran.com – dedicated to disseminating information about the richness of Iranian culture.

Acceptance of these awards variously mandates that I:

1) Thank my nominator(s) – many thanks LV!  Thanks much POI!

2) Share 10 things about myself my readers may not know –

  • I love tapioca pudding nearly as much as life itself (that’s quite a lot).
  • I cry very easily – not those sad, angry or hurt sobs, as I am actually superbly stalwart in those situations – but the warm, happy, sweet tears that come at the beauty of life.
  • The two most frequent scenarios I encounter in dreams of the wee hours are 1) reliving the wonderful summers I spent on my grandparents farm and 2) waking up in the morning and finding I’ve an immensely important test (usually for a class I didn’t even know I was taking) in mere hours.  Of course, I must pass the test to stay in medical school and, of course, it’s always on some insanely unrelated subject matter (quantum mechanics, biophysical chemistry, etc).
  • I have a close affection for the BBC series, Midsomer Murders – I sometimes randomly whistle the theme.
  • I want a long and lustrous career as a physician scientist at a mid-sized academic institution – but then I want to retire back to the family farm and live a quiet, simple life, giving back to the surrounding community till the old ticker has just the right number of times ticked.
  • My favorite movie of all time – It’s a Wonderful Life.  Awh, Mary, Mary!
  • My second favorite movie – The Wizard of Oz…because there’s no place like home, and no fashion statement like red shoes.
  • I am a member of the “autoimmunity community,” if you will, everyday wrestling with a connective tissue disease which makes life a little more tiring, a touch more bittersweet, and a load more beautiful.
  • I have this crazy dream of learning to fly.  But I am an admittedly borderline driver here on land…  So a dream this will remain, for my own good, and the good of all those citizens above whom I would be cavorting.
  • I have finally decided what I want to be when I grow up – ie, what medical specialty in which I will pursue residency training.  But I’m not going to tell you which that might be….

3) Nominate deserving bloggers.  I will instead simply direct your attention to a handful of sites I find fabulous.  Below please find links to those blogs I visit rather regularly.  Explore and enjoy!

An Afternoon With… (http://anafternoonwith.com/)

An Erik Abroad (http://anerikabroad.wordpress.com/)

Bucket List Publications (http://lesleycarter.wordpress.com/)

Le Maison Loup (http://lemaisonloup.com/)

le zoe musings (http://lezoemusings.wordpress.com/)

nailsbails (http://nailsbails.com/)

Sadie & Dasie (http://sadieanddasie.wordpress.com/)

Snotting Black (http://drevets.com/)

Sugar and Scrubs (http://sugarandscrubs.wordpress.com/)

7 legs (http://7legs.wordpress.com/)

9 comments on “It’s All About W(h)inning…

  1. on thehomefrontandbeyond
    June 29, 2012

    congrats – from what I have read – you deserve every one

  2. Peace Of Iran
    June 29, 2012

    LOVE this post! And girl there is no place like home and no statement like red shoes 🙂 Keep Blogging!

    • mullberrywhine
      June 30, 2012

      Thank you so much for the nomination – I was somewhere over the rainbow about it! 😉 Looking so forward to writing and reading more along and from you, as well!

  3. ElizabethWolf
    July 1, 2012

    Aw. I can’t wait to dive into your list of favorite sites. I’m sure I’ll love them. You should know that there are posts of yours I read out loud to my husband because they are so beautiful and touchingly human. Once we were out grocery shopping and I read one of your posts while waiting in line and burst into tears. Not to mention the fact that you even have time to get to blogging when you’re in school. It’s amazing to me!

    • mullberrywhine
      July 1, 2012

      Oh, I especially enjoy the 4th site on my list. 😉 I had a mini-coronary when button met laptop courtesy of baby – and I did love the account of the young, star-crossed (celebrity) lovers at the cafe! I must admit, I’d sudden goosebumps reading that you share my posts with your family and that they affect you so. Thank you ever so much for the telling, and I hope to keep you crying (and, of course, laughing) for a good long while here.

  4. azita
    July 2, 2012

    I’ve never tried tapioca pudding! Can you believe it? Now must try to find out why you love it so and also am dying to find out what specialty you have chosen. Thank you for the nod! :))))) ❤

    • mullberrywhine
      July 3, 2012

      Oh gracious! Never tried tapioca? Oh, my dear, do give it a whirl! If you like a good rice pudding, you’ll likely love tapioca! And thank you for having such a fun site to fully deserve a nod – your creativity is swell! Looking forward to much, much more of it – and tapioca. ;).

  5. Pingback: Favorite Things Fine Followers « Mullberry Whine

Keep it clean, keep it respectful, or keep away.

Follow me.

LINKwithlove

From the Cellar

Now Fermenting

House Rules

Creative Commons License
Nothing under the table.
***
The views expressed on "Mullberry Whine" are NOT intended to diagnose or treat disease.
***
The med-ed related stories described here are based on real events. Details have been changed in accordance with HIPAA de-identification guidelines to protect confidentiality.
***
Mullberry Whine can be enjoyed daily; there is no unsafe quantity. Real wine, though, should be enjoyed in moderation. At-Risk Drinking for males under 65 is defined as >14 alcoholic beverages per week or >4/day, with >7 drinks a week or >3/day being the cut-off for females under 65 and for anyone, male or female, who has graced this planet for 65 years for more. Drink Mullberry Whine like there are no consequences. But drink alcohol responsibly. Your friends, your family, your health-care provider, and your liver - heck, ALL of the organs in your body - will thank you.
