Mullberry Whine

poured out before bed

Favorite Things Film

Whenever I do something clumsy (which is actually quite often)  – I may be heard to exclaim – “OH, DAY-VID!” – simply because of this movie.

The AFI has listed this little film as #14 on it’s list of the best laughs in the last 100 years and, though I might move it a bit farther up the list, I agree with this accolade.  I love Cary Grant.  I love Katharine Hepburn.  I love clever dialogue.  My favorite line?  “In moments of quiet I’m strangely drawn to you, but, well, there haven’t been any quiet moments,” (David, Grant’s character, to Susan, played by Hepburn).  My favorite scene?  Well, there’s too many for me to name just one…  When Susan steals David’s car…when a rather important portion of Susan’s wardrobe goes missing…the meet cute between David and Baby…when David follows George obsessively all through a formal dinner…when Susan is a heel after losing her heel…when the two leads are submerged in a “shallow” stream…when Susan successfully talks her way out of prison…I could go on (and on and on).  Seriously.  Go rent it.  If you appreciate classic films, you will not regret it!

4 comments on “Favorite Things Film

  1. kindredspirit23
    August 31, 2012

    I will, definitely, keep that one in mind.
    Scott

  2. kindredspirit23
    August 31, 2012

    Oh, when I went to look up the movie, I found this:

    It is a recut, different music and pasted together scenes making this a “horror” movie. If you know the truth in the scenes, it is hilarious (forgive my sense of warped humor) – so, I had to post.
    Scott

Keep it clean, keep it respectful, or keep away.

Follow me.

LINKwithlove

From the Cellar

Now Fermenting

House Rules

Creative Commons License
Nothing under the table.
***
The views expressed on "Mullberry Whine" are NOT intended to diagnose or treat disease.
***
The med-ed related stories described here are based on real events. Details have been changed in accordance with HIPAA de-identification guidelines to protect confidentiality.
***
Mullberry Whine can be enjoyed daily; there is no unsafe quantity. Real wine, though, should be enjoyed in moderation. At-Risk Drinking for males under 65 is defined as >14 alcoholic beverages per week or >4/day, with >7 drinks a week or >3/day being the cut-off for females under 65 and for anyone, male or female, who has graced this planet for 65 years for more. Drink Mullberry Whine like there are no consequences. But drink alcohol responsibly. Your friends, your family, your health-care provider, and your liver - heck, ALL of the organs in your body - will thank you.
