Mullberry Whine

poured out before bed

Favorite Things Fine Followers

I love my readers – all my readers – in that bold, brotherly way in which one adores one’s colleagues.  That you would pop in – regularly, no less – and smilingly bump that ‘Like’ button, or pound out a thoughtful comment, is quite fabulous.

You’re fabulous.

And I’d love to give public nod to each of you individually – I do certainly hope to feature your collective cleverness in my What I Read Wednesday weekly.  But this Friday, I thank those particularly generous readers who’ve seen fit to send a little linky love my way.

Plan-sy (as I like to call her), in addition to kindly directing other medschool-nauts my way, very sweetly nominated me for the One Lovely Blog Award.  This beautiful, bright-eyed med student is starting her second first year of medical school (yes, you read that right; intriguing, no?). She’s studying away over at Ah Yes, Plans.

LeapingTracks has very graciously nominated me for the Reader Appreciation Award.  This music mogul puts my weekly Sing It Sunday piece to shame, daily sharing her favorite artists and tracks, commenting on genres and on little snippets of her life in the UK.  You can sing along with her over at Leaping Tracks.

Last (chronologically as the award nods go, but certainly not least) is Scott.  This gentleman (a true gentleman, ladies) created his very own award – the Giving of Yourself Award – and was kind enough to tip his hat toward me.  In addition to being a gentleman, Scott is also a survivor, and a bit of a spitfire.  He politely, yet passionately blogs over at KindredSpirit.

These awards have various guidelines for acceptance, but I’m afraid my head is too full of guidelines for follow up of adrenal incidentaloma and guidelines for management of hypercalcemic crisis and guidelines for workup of hyperthyroidism to keep them all straight.  So I will give great and hearty thanks to my phenomenal nominators (thanks so much, you lovely lot!), direct you to this old post to learn my old, little known secrets, and leave a list of five blogs I enjoy for your pleasant perusal.

Doodlemum
Neo-alchemist
These Are The Days
That’s Mrs. Mediocrity to You
Violets & Cardamom

Still reading?  Then you’re my favorite reader.  Especially if you think fondly on me for the next 24 – I submit my ERAS (electronic residency application service) application for residency tomorrow!  GAH!!!

8 comments on “Favorite Things Fine Followers

  1. kindredspirit23
    September 14, 2012

    Thanks so much for the gracious nod and for the wonderful compliment. “Passionately blogs away”? Yes, I guess I do. Have great day and you shouldn’t need luck with your residency. If something happens, then I have lost faith in the medical field.
    Scott

    • mullberrywhine
      September 15, 2012

      Thanks for the nod – and the ERAS submission well wishes! Stay spunky!

  2. Kate
    September 14, 2012

    I just recently found you, and although I don’t really understand all the big medical words you throw around so gracefully (after all, I did major in English which is as far away from the science field as possible), I love reading about your adventures. Thank you for the nod and the link up. Good luck tomorrow! : )

    • mullberrywhine
      September 15, 2012

      I’m so glad you enjoy them, jargon and all. And many thanks for the ERAS submission wishes – may my internet be fleet!

  3. leapingtracks
    September 14, 2012

    Thank you for your generous comments about my blog. I look forward to checking out the new blogs which you have highlighted, and continuing to read your excellent posts of course!

    • mullberrywhine
      September 15, 2012

      Thank you very much for nomination! And I’ll keep enjoying your insights on your vast collection of tunes!

  4. ahyesplans
    September 15, 2012

    Mulberry, thanks for the link action! I don’t know how I’d be getting through head and neck or embryology without your blog. For the sake of my medical career, please never stop writing!

    • mullberrywhine
      September 15, 2012

      Oh, embryology… the most tested Step I concepts are those pesky branchial clefts and arches, the journey of para/thyroid development, the dazzling, collaborative wonder of the pituitary, and, of course, the always fascinating (read: confusing) looping of the primordial heart. Oh, and that elusive cloaca (because you can never, truly get away from urine and feces in medicine). Such good fun. Good luck, carry on! And I’ll keep up my end to foster your bloggy study refreshment. 😉

Keep it clean, keep it respectful, or keep away.

Follow me.

LINKwithlove

From the Cellar

Now Fermenting

House Rules

Creative Commons License
Nothing under the table.
***
The views expressed on "Mullberry Whine" are NOT intended to diagnose or treat disease.
***
The med-ed related stories described here are based on real events. Details have been changed in accordance with HIPAA de-identification guidelines to protect confidentiality.
***
Mullberry Whine can be enjoyed daily; there is no unsafe quantity. Real wine, though, should be enjoyed in moderation. At-Risk Drinking for males under 65 is defined as >14 alcoholic beverages per week or >4/day, with >7 drinks a week or >3/day being the cut-off for females under 65 and for anyone, male or female, who has graced this planet for 65 years for more. Drink Mullberry Whine like there are no consequences. But drink alcohol responsibly. Your friends, your family, your health-care provider, and your liver - heck, ALL of the organs in your body - will thank you.
