Mullberry Whine

poured out before bed

Two Stories

A Wind Beaten Tree, 1883, Vincent Van Gogh

He points to the trash can at my feet with a trembling hand, breathing heavily as he struggles simply to manage his own secretions.  I hold an emesis basin beneath his straining chin, just as he loses control of a great gob of frothy saliva.

“I can’ e’en’ swall my own skit,” he sputters, his moist eyes boring agony into mine.

I reach out and hold his hand, knowing how foolish it would be to ask him about his mood, his appetite, his energy, his sleep, his spirits.  I place my clipboard and pen on the floor and let him feel out the old words his stroke has made new, let him cough and cry and catch at the striking difference between his former life and the one he lives now.  Brokenly, he talks for nearly an hour, his eyes rolling from me to the sunlit window sill as he struggles to afford me but a glimpse of the strong man trapped in feeble flesh.

His frustration becomes to much.

“I with I’d fall owa winow.”  He lays back and stares at the half dead cedar beyond the blinds.  “Two sory ‘nougha en’ me…”

.

Step 2 CK Throw Back, From Psychiatry

2 comments on “Two Stories

  1. kindredspirit23
    October 10, 2012

    While I would not think much of killing myself, I do empathize with him. I have spent so much time relearning old things in the last couple of years. Even now, I am still learning to do things that I used to do so simply.
    Scott

    • mullberrywhine
      October 12, 2012

      I’ve great respect for those who suffer a devastating stroke – or any such medical tragedy – and weather the hours and hours (and hours) of therapy in attempt to regain old skills. And I certainly can respect the frank depression such an experience can induce.

      This brave gentleman beat his depression and made amazing strides in beating his disabilities. Sadly, he passed away a few months later from an unrelated medical condition, but I understand the life between was beautiful, and the death a peaceful one.

Keep it clean, keep it respectful, or keep away.

Follow me.

LINKwithlove

From the Cellar

Now Fermenting

House Rules

Creative Commons License
Nothing under the table.
***
The views expressed on "Mullberry Whine" are NOT intended to diagnose or treat disease.
***
The med-ed related stories described here are based on real events. Details have been changed in accordance with HIPAA de-identification guidelines to protect confidentiality.
***
Mullberry Whine can be enjoyed daily; there is no unsafe quantity. Real wine, though, should be enjoyed in moderation. At-Risk Drinking for males under 65 is defined as >14 alcoholic beverages per week or >4/day, with >7 drinks a week or >3/day being the cut-off for females under 65 and for anyone, male or female, who has graced this planet for 65 years for more. Drink Mullberry Whine like there are no consequences. But drink alcohol responsibly. Your friends, your family, your health-care provider, and your liver - heck, ALL of the organs in your body - will thank you.
